Thursday, March 22, 2012

New Fluorescent Lamp Efficacy Standards 2012 – Effective January 1, 2013

BOMA San Francisco Members:

In 2009, the Department of Energy issued its Final Rule on new efficacy standards for general service fluorescent lamps and incandescent reflector lamps. These new minimum performance standards apply to new lamps manufactured for sale in the United States and will take effect on July 14, 2012.

These new standards, will impact many of the 4-foot T12 and 2-foot T12 U-shaped lamps, 8-foot T12 lamps and some 4-foot T8 lamps from the marketplace.  Due to this change, starting January 1, 2013, PG&E will no longer offer incentives to upgrade from T12 to a T8 lamp and electronic ballast, to de-lamp T12s, or to upgrade T12 fixtures to more efficient interior fixtures.

Therefore, these projects must have been installed and operational by December 15, 2012 to  be processed in accordance to the terms of the respective applications and commitments.  These changes are part of an overall strategy to transition our portfolio to more efficient, advanced lighting technologies.  Please reference the Lighting Rebate Catalog for the current PG&E T12 rebate offerings. For more information about the new lighting standards, see below.

The following lamp models will not be compliant with the new standards:

  • Most F40 and F34T12 lamps and almost all FB40 and FB34T12 U-lamps;
  • All 75W F96T12 lamps;
  • All 60W F96T12/ES lamps, with the exception of a few 700/SP and 800/SPX lamps;
  • All conventional 110W F96T12 HO lamps that deliver fewer than 10,120 lumens;
    All 95W F96T12/ES/HO, unless they can provide at least 8,740 lumens;
  • First generation F32T8 lamps (700 series).

The new efficacy standards are as follows:

For more information about DOE’s Appliance Standards for Fluorescent Lamps, click here. You may also contact Julia Grinberg with PG&E at or (415) 973-6921.

No comments:

Post a Comment